2018 Spring Southern League


The Southern League competition is the highest level club competition in southern Tasmania. New players can contact us and we will put you in touch with a southern club or you can find club details here.

The Spring 2018 competition will run from Monday 13 August, with finals commencing in late November.

Venue: Moonah Sports Centre in Gormanston Road Moonah (map)

Download the Southern League Policy Handbook (v2.3). Competition specific rules must be understood by all clubs and participants. A PDF version of the fixture can be downloaded here.


Most Valuable Player voting can be viewed here.


Div1 women: Boss def. Van Diemens 3-1 

MVP Kaitlyn Palfrey - Van Diemens

In a re-match of the last four division 1 women's grand finals, Boss and Van Diemens squared off once again. Boss were heavy favourites, after winning the 2018 Autumn Southern League and 2018 State League titles, as well as only dropping 5 sets all season. In the end, they proved too strong for a determined Van Diemens' team, claiming their 4th title from the past 5 seasons.

Div2 women: Van Diemens def. Phoenix Firebirds 3-1 

MVP Amie Scruton - Van Diemens

The Van Diemens women were favourites starting this match, after only dropping 2 sets in thier 12 matches during the regular season. Nevertheless, Phoenix Firebirds, who themselves had made 7 of the last 8 finals at this level, weren't going to go down without a fight. In the end, the Van Diemens women had too many options in attack, to win their 3rd straight division 2 women's title.

Div1 men: Vikings def. Boss Eagles 3-1 

MVP Jan Jansen - Boss Eagles

The Vikings men created history for their club in claiming the division 1 men's title, it was the first Southern League title of any description for their club since its inception in 2014. To do so, they eliminated Van Diemens in the prelim final, who had featured in the last 12 consecutive grand finals and then went one better in the grand final and upset the defending champions and minor premiers, Boss.

Div2 men: Van Diemens def. Phoenix Angry Blocks 3-1 

MVP Chris Schier - Van Diemens

Phoenix Angry Blocks had to overcome two perennial finalists, in Phoenix Thunderbolts and Boss Hawks, to earn their spot in the grand final. This massive task clearly played them into great form, as their final against the Van Diemens Volleyroos was the closest of the night. Unfortunately for Phoenix, the Van Diemens men ended their dream run, to claim their 5th consecutive title.


See past competitions here.